top of page

Fastest Cheapest DIY GoPole

I needed a pole for my gopro so I made one. This was a really quick and cheap project, total $5 plus the gopro pieces I already had.

First I went and got a $5 telescoping squeegee, I got lucky and found one with a grip on it so it saved me a step later.

After that I used the smallest drill bit I needed to drill out the head of the squeegee, it was pinched in place.

Then I took a short go pro segment piece that almost fit in the end of the pipe and started to dremel. I went slow and constantly checked the fit because I wanted it as tight a fit as possible.

I used the holes I had drilled to get the head off and matched a drill bit to the size of cable tie that would thread through it, then i coaxed my dremeled short piece in the end of the pipe, lined up the holes, threaded the cable tie and done, no epoxy, no dry times. I aded a handstrap from an old nordic skating pole.

This pole extends further out than any gopole I've seen, my only problem with is how long it is at its shortest length but no a huge problem for me, I recently added stickers so people would know its a filming pole and not a beating people pole.


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page